11 Jan

Graduate school begins next week, and with it begins a disruption to my meals. It’s common knowledge among friends and family, that I need to eat and I need to eat often. But when I’m looking for a meal as I wait for a train or a class to begin, I grab the nearest palatable thing. This in no way means that something is something healthy.

I figure the only way to circumvent this issue to to do what all those magazines, books and blogs tell me to do: plan ahead.

Each weekend I plan on creating a list of recipes and meals that will either freeze or travel well, so that I always have something available. Today’s was a batch of Martha Stewart’s Apple Squash Soup. I had higher hopes for this soup, but a side salad and dollop of greek yogurt made it a much more respectable lunch.

________________________

After several months hiatus from visiting a museum for pleasure, rather than work, I visited the Whitney to view their Edward Hopper show. Already a Hopper fan, I enjoyed seeing his work set among that of his contemporaries.

His works of solitude and isolation, commentary on the human condition, are somehow much more palatable than more contemporary artists’ reflections on the darker aspects of life. I may feel this way because his use of light, color and shape are more applicable to my personal work, but my friend MaryEllen and I left the other exhibits feeling more depressed then inspired.

Hopper on the other hand made me really focus on the way light fell on the apartment buildings as I walked to the subway. I earned more personally and artistically from just a few of his paintings than from every gallery I visited in Chelsea earlier that day.

3 Responses to “”

  1. Courtney (Pancakes & Postcards) January 14, 2011 at 5:25 pm #

    good luck starting school! I hope it’s amazing and I know you’ll rock it!

  2. Angie @ The Fitness Apple January 17, 2011 at 2:11 am #

    GREAT POST!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

