Travels in the Boroughs

18 Jan

During the last few days, I’ve ventured to certain areas in the boroughs that I’ve previously never been to: Williamsburg and Flushing.

Thursday night, I accompanied my friend to her work dinner party at the restaurant Cubana Socíal in Williamsburg. As soon as I crossed the threshold, I fell in love with the ambiance of the place. I felt like I was in 1930’s Havana due to the dark wood contrasting with cream walls, dim lighting and the talented guitarists playing in the middle of the space.  I really enjoy the feeling of being transported to another place in time, especially when it coincides with delicious food.

We sampled almost everything on the menu, but the standout for me was the kale and avocado salad. When I’ve made kale at home, I’ve never really loved the taste of it but this salad is converting me. I have plans to go back and enjoy it this summer at Cubana Socíal, when the doors are opened and summer air fills the place.

________________________

Sunday morning I did something that several of my friends used to do every Sunday morning while we were in high school. I even texted one of them this Sunday to state, “guess what I did!”

I went….for dim sum.

My boyfriend and I drove in, found parking, and then waited in a throng of people in the stairwell of the restaurant. The hostess called out numbers, and once we heard ours we were able to scale the stairs and enter the filled restaurant. This is where my culinary tale becomes scant on fact, for I cannot actually tell you the names of anything I ate.

We didn’t order off a menu, just pointed to steamer baskets on the constantly passing carts. I didn’t question it; I just drank an entire pot of tea, had a fantastic time, and consumed everything.

Everything that is, except for the chicken feet.

 

4 Responses to “Travels in the Boroughs”

  1. greenplatedinners January 19, 2011 at 12:46 am #

    I HEART dim sum!! We don’t have much good dim sum on Maui, but China Town in Honolulu is a MUST when we go =) YUM!

    • culturalcravings January 24, 2011 at 8:03 pm #

      I don’t think I can be a judge yet on whether or not this dim sum was good or not, but I definitely enjoyed it. I’ve actually never been to chinatown in nyc, this was actually in flushing, queens.

  2. Courtney (Pancakes & Postcards) January 20, 2011 at 1:51 am #

    I can never do the chicken feet at dim sum either. Believe me, I’ve tried. But there’s nothing to EAT!! Not worth it.

    PS check it out stylish blogger :) http://pancakesandpostcards.com/2011/01/stylish-blogging-on-africa-time/

    • culturalcravings January 24, 2011 at 8:04 pm #

      Yeah, I’m not even going to attempt to trying eating chicken feet. My boyfriend ate two steamer baskets of chicken feet BY HIMSELF.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

