The Morgan, part 2.

24 Feb

I have to admit that even though I love museums, about half way through my visits I tend to need a snack. Preferably something that will either a) tide me over til dinner time, b) get me through the train ride home or c) both. So after viewing a Woman’s Wit and Rome after Raphael, my friend Dana ( hi Dana) and I grabbed a table at the Morgan’s Cafe. I was tempted to order the wine and cheese pairing inspired by the Raphael show, but since I’m currently not drinking alcohol and I was starving I chose something else. Instead, I ordered the shiitake mushroom and goat cheese tart accompanied by a frisee salad. The tart was good, though I tasted more egg than either mushroom or goat cheese. So I’m going to have to rename it the shittake mushroom quiche. The frisee salad was really refreshing, with a light lemon dressing. Since my stomach is a bottomless  pit and I hate to end good conversation with a friend, Dana and I decided to go for our traditional museum tea and split a plate of cookies. There were about 5 cookies, with the only repeat being 2 macaroons. Since we both dislike macaroons, our first reaction was “why would they give two of the worst type of cookie on the plate?” But we were wrong, oh so wrong; the macaroons ended up being the tastiest cookies of the bunch.

4 Responses to “The Morgan, part 2.”

  1. Dana February 24, 2010 at 4:05 pm #

    LOVE this post 🙂 thanks for my shout out

    • culturalcravings February 25, 2010 at 12:26 pm #

      Um, thanks for being my museum / food / blog discussing partner.

  2. Stef @ moretolifethanlettuce February 24, 2010 at 5:00 pm #

    i gasped when i read that you don’t like macaroons. glad these ones won you over!

    • culturalcravings February 25, 2010 at 12:26 pm #

      Well I had assumed I only liked my friend’s macaroons she makes b/c they’re coated in chocolate ( which I never say no to)…..but the Morgan’s have definitely converted me. Glad you stopped by!

Leave a Reply

