I’m back!

7 Apr

I finally finished my 3 and a half week stint serving as juror, which means I can get back to what I love: food and art. I haven’t really made anything the past  month, but I just fully restocked my fridge and pantry and am excited for the new seasonal produce. Hellooooo spring and summer. However, I do have some photos for you of a delicious Potato, Onion and Gruyere Tart (Recipe from Food and Wine’s Best Cookbooks of 2009).

Prep for Easter Sunday

Yum

Success!

This is the second from scratch crust that I’ve made, and I still get a little anxious each time. Will it stick together? Will it fall apart and gape with holes when I roll it out? Due to lots of chilling time and uber instructive steps from the cookbook, I achieved the goal of buttery flakiness. In fact, the crust was my little cousin’s favorite part. (The filling was pushed to the side of her plate. I helped her out and ate it myself)

Art Shows I want to check out:

Dead or Alive at the Museum of Art and Design (Opens April 27)

Playing with Pictures: The Art of Victorian Photocollage at the Met (closes May 9)

Contemporary Aboriginal Painting from Australia at the Met (closes June 13)

Pablo Bronstein at the Met (closes April 18)

Contemplating the Void: Interventions in the Guggenheim Museum (closes April 28)

3 Responses to “I’m back!”

  1. Megan (The Runner's Kitchen) April 7, 2010 at 1:27 pm #

    I always get a little anxious about pie dough, but your tart looks delicious! I love the combination of potatoes, flavorful cheese, and veggies.

  2. Caitlin April 9, 2010 at 8:43 am #

    let me know when youre going to the met and the mad. havent been to a museum in so long!
    come up and hang out soon!
    stop making me hungry!

    • culturalcravings April 9, 2010 at 9:37 am #

      Caitlin I miss you! I’ve just started working again after suffering through jury duty, and I drive by your old house all the time. Never fear, I WILL visit the new place…it just takes me awhile to do things. You know that.

      I actually might be going to the Met tuesday….but I know Jackie wanted us all to go to MAD in april for a field trip ( instead of the usual crit)

Leave a Reply

