Easy Ravioli

26 May

You know when you have a crappy day, and all you want to do is something you like? That feeling is what lured me into my kitchen in NY’s sweltering 90 degree weather. I wanted to make something for dinner. Something good. Something that would use the basil growing in my garden. I may have bought wonton wrappers in order to make Caitlin’s Sweet Potato and Baked Bean wontons,but I ended up being inspired by Amanda‘s use of them to create ravioli.

Ingredients (All amounts are roughly estimated. It was too hot to add to the amount of dishes I’d have to wash)

-2 cups baby spinach, finely chopped

-5 cremini mushrooms, finely chopped

-1/2  cup part skim ricotta cheese

-1/2 cup reduced fat shredded mozzarella

– 1 tbsp fresh basil, finely chopped

– 1/2 tbsp fresh oregano, finely chopped

-Salt and Pepper

-Wonton wrappers

Combine ingredients. Place approximately a tablespoon of mixture in the center of one wrapper. Lay another on top, seal with water. Place in boiling water for about 3 minutes. (I only cooked about 4 at a time, I was worried they would stick together since I didn’t know what the consistency of the wrapper would be. )

My sister asked where I got the ravioli from because they reminded her of dumplings. I had to tell her why.

Leave a Reply

