Unbirthday Tea in NYC

1 Jun

My birthday was a few weeks ago, and my bffer Dana wanted to take me out for tea. Except she was away and then channeled Madeline with an emergency appendectomy, so this past Friday was the first day we were able to go.

Alice’s Tea Cup, Chapter III on E. 81st.

Their tea menu is so extensive! I felt it was only right that I get the Birthday / Unbirthday tea, which is a black tea with fruity overtones. Dana had Alice’s Tea. And then we ordered the Mad Hatter, which is meant for two to share. Out of the three small tables seated by the window, we definitely ordered the most. The table to our left was quite jealous, and told us so.

We had 3 scones: mixed berry, pumpkin, and double chocolate. The best was the mixed berry. In fact, Dana wanted me to say the following about my consumption of it:

“You might not realize this, but Katie’s family is very proper. They essentially have a parlor. And Katie often times belongs in the nineteenth century, where her various skills at menu planning, drawing, piano playing, etc. would make her a properly educated young lady. However, sometimes Katie cannot be taken out in public. Her consumption of the mixed berry scone, and feelings towards it, were practically indecent. Especially when paired with clotted cream.”

The pumpkin was good, but seasonally inappropriate. Dana and I both agreed that we would have liked it way more if we were wearing cozy sweaters instead of sundresses.  Sandwich wise we got the cumin carrot sandwich, with an olive tapenade and goat cheese, and a sandwich with smoked chicken breast, granny smith apple, and goat cheese. Winner of the sandwich smackdown? The chicken.

And we couldn’t even make it to the dessert tier. Because did I mention the mixed berry scone?

I had been warned about a potential wait, but because we arrived early on Friday for lunch, we were seated right away. I could see how this place could get packed on the weekends, because it would be an adorable place to take little girls for brunch and tea. Their wednesday night tea infused cocktails are definitely more for the older girls who visit. Ready for our next visit Dana?

5 Responses to “Unbirthday Tea in NYC”

  1. Michelle June 1, 2010 at 10:35 am #

    yay I’m glad you guys liked it! I’m coming next time :-p

  2. MaryEllen June 1, 2010 at 6:37 pm #

    I miss New York and wearing dresses in the city and the quaint places.

  3. caitlin June 3, 2010 at 10:04 pm #

    oh my god, you are very nineteenth century, aren’t you?

  4. Christina June 4, 2010 at 6:26 pm #

    Going for tea sounds like so much fun! I’ve never been to a tea place.

  5. Emily June 13, 2010 at 4:17 pm #

    I love that Dana describes you as being proper! And I agree with Michy…wait till I’m back and we’ll go together! Mmm mixed berry scones…

Leave a Reply

