Beers with a Bestie

11 Jun

If that title isn’t a girly way of negating a statement I heard last week from a co-worker (“Whoa…it’s weird to find girls who like beer”), I don’t know what is. In the moment, I promptly disagreed by saying “I don’t know any of my girlfriends who dislike it”. That may have been a bit of a stretch, but I needed to prove a point. And I proved it again last night when Dana came over for dinner and impromptu beer tasting. Because, as I might have mentioned, we really enjoy  beer.

She brought over Flying Dog’s Doggie Style, and Victory’s Golden Monkey. The Golden Monkey was brewed with spices but the overall effect was slightly overbearing. It would have worked better with spicy food, instead of the pasta salad that I had made. Flying Dog wasn’t a winner for either of us. The winner of the night?

Bud Light’s Golden Wheat. Normally, I wouldn’t choose Bud Light to drink because it has many college life associations with it but Golden Wheat is actually a pleasant summer beer. It has a nice finish, and I prefer it to Bud Light Lime.

And because we love food even more than we love beer:

Impromptu Pasta Salad

Simply combine

whole wheat pasta, arugula, chickpeas,

chopped red pepper, kalamata olives, feta cheese,

tomatoes, and chopped artichoke hearts.  Season liberally with pepper.

(maybe not quite so liberally as me. I accidentally knocked the top off the canister as I was shaking it)

Toss with olive oil and red wine vinegar.

Enjoy with a beer.

If only it had been warm enough for an impromptu swim.

3 Responses to “Beers with a Bestie”

  1. Michelle June 11, 2010 at 9:38 am #

    bud light golden wheat sounds yummy, I’ve never heard of it/seen it!

    • Emily June 13, 2010 at 4:12 pm #

      Beers with a bestie sounds delish.

  2. Dana June 14, 2010 at 5:59 pm #

    so yummy

Leave a Reply

