Summer (Seafood) in the City

21 Jun

Saturday night I went to my second “recreational cooking class” at the Institute of Culinary Education on West 23rd Street, Summer Seafood on the Grill.  Typically these classes are around 4 hours. I missed the first 45 minutes though due to traffic, and I can say with brutal honesty I had a quick crying fit because  I hate hate hate being late. Sometimes my perfectionist tendencies can be a downfall.

It actually worked out this time though because we missed the boring go through of the recipes and introduction to the class, and could get right down to what my boyfriend and I wanted to do: cook. The schedule for this class pretty much goes like this: first hour is recipe run through, next two and half hours or three hours are cooking, followed up by feasting. The recipes get divided up among the class, usually two people per recipe. Since there were 8 couples and 7 recipes, we paired up with the other friendly couple in the room to make our crostini con frutti di mare.You also receive a folder at the beginning of class which contains all of the recipes, so you can make them at home.

Unfortunately, our instructor for this class was not as laid back as our previous instructor which was a little bit of a downer. For example, instead of being free to grab out ingredients ourselves from the kitchen, our instructor handed them out. I’m perfectly capable of grabbing some chives myself, thank you very much. I did like that this class was equally about presentation of a dish, something which was not a concern at the class I took during January.

And without further ado, the food.

Frozen Gazpacho with Grilled Shrimp

I’m not going to lie, this was a really bizarre dish to eat. The gazpacho had been given the consistency and temperature of a sorbet, so it tasted like cold tomato soup.

Crostini con Frutti Di Mare

This was the dish I helped create; it focused on poached calamari,scallops and shrimps chilled with fresh herbs and vegetables, served upon grilled bread. This was a substantial crostini, fork and knife necessary.

Herb-Crusted Salmon / California Avocado Salsa

I loved the salsa this salmon was served upon. It definitely had a strong avocado flavor, but I think it would really pair well with most grilled foods. The salmon was cooked perfectly, but the herb crust was a little too salty.  Someone’s hand must have slipped with the salt.

Spanish style and Monkfish Skewers

For which I have no pictures. I’ll just say that for a crazy looking fish, monkfish tastes delicious.

Chopped Salad with Buttermilk Herb Dressing

Both the salad and dressing were really fresh tasting, though the dressing really needs to be used in moderation.

*Side story: Our instructor told us to think about color when laying out the vegetables. I wanted to say, “Do you know what I studied in school? BFA in painting right here.” But I refrained.

Strawberry Rhubarb Tart

Delicious.

3 Responses to “Summer (Seafood) in the City”

  1. Michelle June 21, 2010 at 10:30 am #

    This food looks so yummy and pretty!

    I took a cupcake class at I.C.E and obviously loved it 🙂 I’ve always wanted to take a regular cooking class there, though.

  2. Tes June 21, 2010 at 10:46 am #

    Those dishes look amazing. I wanna try all of them. Thanks for sharing.

  3. Courtney (Pancakes & Postcards) June 30, 2010 at 4:58 am #

    How awesome! I have NEVER taken a cooking class, but when I get back to the States that is one of the first things I want to sign up for, if I can afford it!

Leave a Reply

