Sneaky yet Delicious

3 Aug

Last night was the second time I made Baked Vegetable Lasagna, which my family refers to as sneaky lasagna. I like to think of it as sneaky yet delicious. The reason for the nick name is that the cheese layer subs out some of the ricotta for tofu, which I neglected to tell my sister the first time she ate it.

I do think the recipe could use a little more sauce, carefully rationing it is the only way to have enough for all the layers. And more vegetables! 2 zucchini and 2 bell peppers yields a slightly scant vegetable layer. I not only used 2 bell peppers, but 3 sweet peppers my boyfriend had left for me to use from his family’s garden. I also think that next time I’ll chop the zucchini, instead of strips. It’s a little hard to cut the way it is. Fresh herbs ( from my garden this time) also definitely helped the flavor.

Overall, this light lasagna is delicious despite it’s slight deceitfulness. You could be upfront about what the ingredients are when serving to guests, but what you don’t know doesn’t hurt you.

Leave a Reply

